Skip to main content



Samarkand "China" MP3

Here's an outtake from the summer 1993 recordings we did for the white Samarkand tape. "China" is like 15 minutes long, with two parts. This was the only pre-existing song Brian Lewis and Jeff Sampson had when we all started playing together in my basement. I believe it had lyrics but no one ever sang them! How's that for enigmatic. In retrospect the drum loop is too busy for this expansive yet understated song. Ah, well. Actually now it just makes the whole thing sound even more like the Cure's "Carnage Visors". Jeff played bass, Brian's on guitar, I'm on guitar, I believe Todd Skaggs did the keys although it might've been me. This song appears on the remastered & expanded edition of the white Samarkand tape CD, which was made as part of a Samarkand box set which was started but never finished a couple of years ago.

the first Samarkand flier October 1992 already off to an obscure start. It says "Samarkand DEMO OUT NOW". I bought a clip art book for the fonts and had to manually cut and paste everything, which is why it looks so bad. Well, part of why it looks so bad.

the last Samarkand flier January 1994. The handwritten lyrics for "Survive" are on the other side of the page.


Popular posts from this blog

(in Parentheses) - 1988-1989 - LIVE & REHEARSALS

(in Parentheses)
Live February 27, 1989 + rehearsal - supergroup (relatively speaking) combining the bands Prophecy and Domestik Quarrel!!?
recorded with Christine The Ghetto Blaster Of Death
live and in rehearsal

Michael Million - bass
Aaron Pauley - guitar
Ian C Stewart - guitar, vocals
Jim Swanson - drums

1. Hope Fear Lie (live)
2. Antisocial Behavior (live)
3. Fart Song (live)
4. Dischord (live)
5. Enthalpenis (live)
6. Enthalpy continued (live)
7. Unto Dust (instrumental)
8. Psychological (instrumental)
9. Enthalpy (instrumental)
10. Yo' Mama (instrumental)
11. Political Invention (instrumental)
12. Adagio Abstractor (instrumental)
13. Oh My, That's Heavy (instrumental)
14. Oh My, That's Heavy (take 2) (instrumental)

fzzy recollections

FZZY PMPR came about after I bought a used desktop PC that was curated by ECC's Mark Gunderson. 
 He loaded it up with the entire internet circa 1996 with every game, oddity and software package ever, along with some ECC ephemera. I eventually started experimenting with audio editing programs like Cool Edit and the like, trying to do "cut ups" of my own, which were just failed sound experiments really. Eventually I crafted an album of sample-based material, which was the Samarkand album "Continua". Eventually the megalomania took focus and a la Evolution Control Committee, Samarkand became FZZY PMPR which had as its members, what, DJ Arse and others, I think?

Megalomania gave way to regular mania and today it's not even a memory! That's the way Huntington's Disease works, I start off with this bossy, overpowering and seductive uhh drive to just point out every single thing in the universe which gradually cools until it's like it never even happene…

IAN C STEWART - Woke Up In Love

Woke Up In Love 

Recorded June, 2006 
processed August, 2013 
E-mu Proteus 
Steinberger guitar 
Yamaha fretless bass 

experiential noise drone gaze 


1. Woke Up In Love (4:18) 
2. Under The (5:09) 
3. Inner Monologue (4:03) 
4. A False Economy (2:23) 
5. Slowly Unfolds (3:15) 
6. Thinking Back (2:25) 
7. Even As (4:04) 
8. In The Night (5:10) 
9. At Long Last (4:34) 
10. Newbient (16:48) 

There's always this. Buy here now.