Skip to main content


Ian C Stewart "Garden Scene" MP3

It seems like all I do here is bellyache and berate myself for all the missed opportunities and lapses in quality control I've slackered myself into.. I guess there are very few things I've ever recorded that I consider unqualified successes. "Garden Scene" is one of them.

This piece was recorded in 1995, one of the last things I did before firing up the AUTOreverse mechanism. I was in the zone just before I packed up the studio stuff for good. It wasn't for good, obviously, but that's sort of the effect it had on me at the time.

The song is a total, unashamed ripoff of all things Cocteau Twins and 1980s. Everything is reverbed to helen back. The drum machine is dialed in on that 4AD setting. The keyboard was probably my big Casio which was my workhorse for this song and most of the of the stuff on the Samarkand 'smooth jazz' (not really) album Pitch Wheel.

I don't need to make excuses for any aspect of this song, one of the very few I can say that about. Now it just needs some sexy female singing and it'll be complete.

This CD dates back to the early days of burning your own discs and printing your own labels. Back when I could still get excited about making unique things for other people to hopefully enjoy. This particular disc was made for a bro in England who claimed that he'd put vocals to anything I sent him. So I excitedly sent him a big batch of my beloved instrumentals and promptly never heard back from him.


Darrin said…
yeah... this song is sweet. reminds me of something you would see some 80's movie of some love sick kids walking on the beach or... erm.. through a garden. :-P

Vinnie Vincent rules!!! Bring back the pink double V!!!

Popular posts from this blog

(in Parentheses) - 1988-1989 - LIVE & REHEARSALS

(in Parentheses)
Live February 27, 1989 + rehearsal - supergroup (relatively speaking) combining the bands Prophecy and Domestik Quarrel!!?
recorded with Christine The Ghetto Blaster Of Death
live and in rehearsal

Michael Million - bass
Aaron Pauley - guitar
Ian C Stewart - guitar, vocals
Jim Swanson - drums

1. Hope Fear Lie (live)
2. Antisocial Behavior (live)
3. Fart Song (live)
4. Dischord (live)
5. Enthalpenis (live)
6. Enthalpy continued (live)
7. Unto Dust (instrumental)
8. Psychological (instrumental)
9. Enthalpy (instrumental)
10. Yo' Mama (instrumental)
11. Political Invention (instrumental)
12. Adagio Abstractor (instrumental)
13. Oh My, That's Heavy (instrumental)
14. Oh My, That's Heavy (take 2) (instrumental)

fzzy recollections

FZZY PMPR came about after I bought a used desktop PC that was curated by ECC's Mark Gunderson. 
 He loaded it up with the entire internet circa 1996 with every game, oddity and software package ever, along with some ECC ephemera. I eventually started experimenting with audio editing programs like Cool Edit and the like, trying to do "cut ups" of my own, which were just failed sound experiments really. Eventually I crafted an album of sample-based material, which was the Samarkand album "Continua". Eventually the megalomania took focus and a la Evolution Control Committee, Samarkand became FZZY PMPR which had as its members, what, DJ Arse and others, I think?

Megalomania gave way to regular mania and today it's not even a memory! That's the way Huntington's Disease works, I start off with this bossy, overpowering and seductive uhh drive to just point out every single thing in the universe which gradually cools until it's like it never even happene…

IAN C STEWART - Woke Up In Love

Woke Up In Love 

Recorded June, 2006 
processed August, 2013 
E-mu Proteus 
Steinberger guitar 
Yamaha fretless bass 

experiential noise drone gaze 


1. Woke Up In Love (4:18) 
2. Under The (5:09) 
3. Inner Monologue (4:03) 
4. A False Economy (2:23) 
5. Slowly Unfolds (3:15) 
6. Thinking Back (2:25) 
7. Even As (4:04) 
8. In The Night (5:10) 
9. At Long Last (4:34) 
10. Newbient (16:48) 

There's always this. Buy here now.