Skip to main content


Ian C Stewart "Monday Love" MP3

Ah, 2003. It doesn't seem that long ago, but apparently it was. The date on the CD is February 15, 2003, which might indicate that this was the second of a started-off-strong-but-died-quickly series of new albums. I think my goal was to release an album a month. Which was no problem for me, even four years ago.

Listen for the Window system barking sound.

I started with the concept of a song cycle about the working week. And, you know me, no pun goes left unpunned. So, "workweak" it was. The song titles came next. It was easy once I had "Casual Tuesday" on the list. "Napalm Friday"? What?

I can't find the lyrics & the vocals are buried in the mix, so maybe you can listen closely & transcribe 'em for me, mm-kay?

It must be,
Oh no it can't be!

Musically, wow does that beginning sound like Idaho. One of my favoritest bands of all time that is also one of the obscurest bands of all time, apparently. I'm still trying to unlatch myself from the Idaho influence. They're just so damn rad! In fact, here's an Idaho video for "God's Green Earth", the first song I ever heard by them & still one of my favorites:

Anyway, getting back to the subject at hand. "Monday Love" was the first song I recorded for the Workweak album. I say album as though I made copies & gave them to people? Did I do this? Or was I just trying to keep the Bizarre Depiction catalog numbers ticking over with regular releases?

This song features a super simple kick/snare drum loop. Acoustic guitar - definitely the Ovation. There's a bit of guitar synth at 10 o clock in the mix. Or 2 o clock in the mix if you're hearing it the other way. Um there's some chimpy keyboard synth, probably the DJX.

This song is kind of dismal and enjoyable at the same time. Kinda like me, I guess.

Looking at the CD cover, this was obviously done around the same time as the first Drone Forest CD. I always recycle.


Popular posts from this blog

(in Parentheses) - 1988-1989 - LIVE & REHEARSALS

(in Parentheses)
Live February 27, 1989 + rehearsal - supergroup (relatively speaking) combining the bands Prophecy and Domestik Quarrel!!?
recorded with Christine The Ghetto Blaster Of Death
live and in rehearsal

Michael Million - bass
Aaron Pauley - guitar
Ian C Stewart - guitar, vocals
Jim Swanson - drums

1. Hope Fear Lie (live)
2. Antisocial Behavior (live)
3. Fart Song (live)
4. Dischord (live)
5. Enthalpenis (live)
6. Enthalpy continued (live)
7. Unto Dust (instrumental)
8. Psychological (instrumental)
9. Enthalpy (instrumental)
10. Yo' Mama (instrumental)
11. Political Invention (instrumental)
12. Adagio Abstractor (instrumental)
13. Oh My, That's Heavy (instrumental)
14. Oh My, That's Heavy (take 2) (instrumental)

fzzy recollections

FZZY PMPR came about after I bought a used desktop PC that was curated by ECC's Mark Gunderson. 
 He loaded it up with the entire internet circa 1996 with every game, oddity and software package ever, along with some ECC ephemera. I eventually started experimenting with audio editing programs like Cool Edit and the like, trying to do "cut ups" of my own, which were just failed sound experiments really. Eventually I crafted an album of sample-based material, which was the Samarkand album "Continua". Eventually the megalomania took focus and a la Evolution Control Committee, Samarkand became FZZY PMPR which had as its members, what, DJ Arse and others, I think?

Megalomania gave way to regular mania and today it's not even a memory! That's the way Huntington's Disease works, I start off with this bossy, overpowering and seductive uhh drive to just point out every single thing in the universe which gradually cools until it's like it never even happene…

IAN C STEWART - Woke Up In Love

Woke Up In Love 

Recorded June, 2006 
processed August, 2013 
E-mu Proteus 
Steinberger guitar 
Yamaha fretless bass 

experiential noise drone gaze 


1. Woke Up In Love (4:18) 
2. Under The (5:09) 
3. Inner Monologue (4:03) 
4. A False Economy (2:23) 
5. Slowly Unfolds (3:15) 
6. Thinking Back (2:25) 
7. Even As (4:04) 
8. In The Night (5:10) 
9. At Long Last (4:34) 
10. Newbient (16:48) 

There's always this. Buy here now.